This 1891 photograph from G. R. Lambert & Co shows an early view of the Raffles Hotel after the completion of the two wings in July 1890 but before the acquisition of the lease of 3 Beach Road, the demolition of the bungalow on it and the construction of the Palm Court which was completed in 1894 [Information contributed by Richard Hale]. Established in 1887 by the Armenian Sarkies brothers, this colonial-era hotel with a rich history is well known for its period architecture and décor, luxurious accommodation and fine cuisine, and has won numerous accolades over the years. The hotel is known in particular for its popular Tiffin Room buffet, and for the Singapore Sling cocktail created in 1915. Raffles Hotel was gazetted as a national monument in 1987. Title devised by Library staff. Date of creation estimated.
All rights reserved. Lee Kip Lin and National Library Board, Singapore 2009.